Fashion Finds & Style Reflections

Personal style, to me, is an authentic expression of who I am, blending my love for unique, eye-catching fashion with a commitment to sustainability. It's about the joy of discovering a vintage gem in a thrift store and the thrill of mixing it with modern pieces to create something truly individual. Recently, I read something that comes to mind whenever I feel the urge to purchase something new: when it comes to buying expensive items or investing in a piece, don't waste your time on anything pedestrian. If the average person can get it at Target, buy it used instead. I never buy anything pedestrian brand new - period.

My philosophy is simple: fashion should be personal and mindful, not merely following trends. This means opting for quality over quantity, preferring pieces that not only look good but also have a story and a smaller environmental footprint. I'm passionate about the impact of fast fashion and the importance of sustainability, but my style isn't defined solely by these concerns. It's also about creativity, comfort, and expressing my mood or the season.

Many of my outfits draw inspiration from the '90s and early 2000s; I like flared pants, floral skirts, and layered tops. I also enjoy combining patterns, textures, and colors, like pairing floral prints with solid colors, mixing knits with more delicate fabrics, and layering. I love experimenting with bold colors and patterns, from bright greens to vibrant reds and eye-catching florals. I like to prioritize comfort without sacrificing style; some of my favorite items are cozy sweaters, relaxed skirts, and practical shoes.

Here are some photos of the outfits my stylist recently chose for me, to give you an idea of how I like to dress.

I have an hourglass figure with a short waist and high "violin" hips, which can make finding the right clothes a bit tricky. While I used to love high-waisted pants, they tend to sit just below my boobs and create an awkward look. My measurements are: height - 5'6" (168 cm), bust - 35" (90 cm), waist - 24" (61 cm), and hips - 34" (86 cm).

Thrift Finds

June 2024: I focused on finding work clothes this month. I purchased two pairs of trousers from Banana Republic and four shirts from Ralph Lauren, Calvin Klein, Karl Lagerfeld, White House Black Market, and Banana Republic. The Ralph Lauren one is my favorite: it has ruching on one side and sits right above my hips, so it's very flattering. Overall, I found some pretty good items! In the future, I want to find more clothes made from natural fibers. I have to walk a fair bit to work, and the humidity here, which I'm not used to yet, makes walking around in anything but cotton a sweaty nightmare.

Current Wishlist

July 2024: Mainly shoes. I want some nude flats or pumps for work, as well as new sneakers, and maaaaybe some sandals. I'm also in the market for even more work pants, especially ones without pleats in the front.

Some specific wants I'm holding off on: striped A-line midi dress from COS; Dusk knit top from Reformation; oversized cotton dolman sweater top from Banana Republic; tops from Doen and Rails.

I've been eyeing one of those crescent bags from Baggu for a while now. I used to be a huge fan of their products, even before they became popular on TikTok, and I still love the Duck bag I bought from them. However, I feel like they've strayed from their original message of sustainability. With their growing popularity, they seem to be releasing new designs more frequently, which doesn't seem sustainable to me. The recent controversy involving Collina Strada and the use of AI also left a bad taste in my mouth. With that in mind, I'm thinking of getting a custom bag made. I came across someone who creates custom bags from thrifted sheets and pillowcases, and it piqued my interest! I might also buy some of those fabric square packs people sell to incorporate into the design. I'm a big fan of Asata Maise's bags and love the quilted look, so I'm feeling inspired by that style.

Go Back